Seared Salmon Over Zucchini Noodles and Red Pepper Coulis

Salmon is my family’s favorite “go-to” meal.  If I only have 15 minutes to get dinner on the table, salmon will be the food of choice.  Sprinkled with a little McCormick’s Grill Mate Steak Seasoning (my favorite for just about everything) and layed into a sizzling pan with just a bit of olive oil, it will form a nice crust (4-5 minutes per side) and that’s it! There are times when I like to dress it up a bit for company, and last night I served it on top of zucchini noodles and a red pepper sauce.  The sauce is full of flavor, very easy to make and healthy since there’s no cream added!   Because I didn’t have fresh red bell peppers on hand, I used jarred instead, and it was delicious. Just put the peppers, shallots and jalapeno in a skillet with a little olive oil, saute 4-5 minutes, add some chicken broth and simmer about 10 minutes.

Then put it all in a blender, add a little salt & pepper and a touch of balsamic vinegar, and this is what it will look like….beautiful color!

Here’s the finished dish…Delish!!!

Seared Salmon Over Zucchini Noodles and Red Pepper Coulis

 

Seared Salmon Over Zucchini Noodles and Red Pepper Coulis

Printable Recipe

  • 4 medium zucchini
  • 6 (6 ounce) skinless salmon fillets
  • Salt & Pepper (I use McCormicks GrillMate Steak Seasoning)

Prepare Red Pepper Coulis: set aside.

Slice zucchini lengthwise into ¼ inch thick strips, stopping at the inside part of the zucchini containing the seeds; discard middle portions.  Cut strips lengthwise into long thin “noodles”; set aside

Note: as an alternative, you can prepare the zucchini “noodles” with a mandoline.

Heat 1 tablespoon olive oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat.  Season both sides of salmon and sauté 4 minutes on each side or until fish flakes easily when tested with a fork.  Don’t overcook…it will continue to cook a bit when removed from the heat. Remove salmon from skillet.  Set aside and keep warm.

Melt 1 teaspoon butter in skillet over medium heat.  Add zucchini noodles, sauté 4 minutes or until wilted, tossing gently.

Spoon Bell Pepper Coulis onto 6 serving plates.  Top with zucchini noodles and salmon.

Red Pepper Coulis

  • 2 red bell peppers, seeded and diced (or two jarred roasted whole red peppers)
  • 1 jalapeno, seeded and diced
  • 2 shallots, peeled and diced
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • ½ cup chicken stock
  • 1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
  • salt & pepper to taste

Sauté peppers and shallots in olive oil 4 to 5 minutes.  Add chicken stock, cover and simmer 10 minutes.  Remove lid and let most of liquid evaporate.  Puree in blender with salt and pepper.  Add 1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar.

Note: Heat expands, so when blending hot foods, always be sure to place a towel over the lid of your blender keeping enough pressure on the lid to keep it from flying off and splattering all over your kitchen!

3 Responses

  1. I’m cooking this tonight, for a girlfriend coming over to watch The Bachelor. I need something quick, pretty and healthy. I looked through 3 cookbooks and didn’t find anything. I came to your blog and decided to cook this, the first post I saw. ha! This is exactly why I originally wanted this blog. Thank you, thank you!

  2. I tried it today and it sure is awsome. I used both yellow squash and Zuchini and istead of Salmon I cooked Grouper. Thanks a bunch for your creativity.

  3. Hey Young Lady……this was certainly another outstanding gourmet dinner! You never cease to amaze me. You still should have your own cable cooking network. I had a great time last night and thanks so much for putting up with me and my extra verbosoity !! You and the Senator are very special to me and I cannt thank you enough. 🙂

Leave a comment