Blueberry Coffee Cake

I don’t normally bake coffee cakes.  Actually, I don’t really consider myself a baker, so if I’m going to go to the trouble, it’s usually going to be something deep, dark & chocolate!  I will make an exception, however, for this coffee cake.  My friend, Annette, made this for breakfast last time Marlboro Man and I joined her and hubby, Tom, at their spectacular hill country ranch…see below…breathtaking, right?

Dreiss Ranch-Texas Hill Country

Dreiss Ranch-Texas Hill Country

Anyway, this coffee cake is melt-in-your mouth good.  Instead of the usual crunchy, crumbly topping on the top, this one has it running through the entire cake!  A perfect blend of brown sugar, cinnamon and nuts makes this cake absolutely irresistible with a cup of hot coffee!

Blueberry Coffee Cake

Blueberry Coffee Cake

Blueberry Coffee Cake

recipe from Company’s Coming, by Junior League of Kansas City

Ingredients:

1 cup butter
2 cups sugar
2 eggs
1 cup dairy sour cream
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
2 cups cake flour or 1 5/8 cup all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup blueberries, fresh
filling:
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 cup nuts, chopped
Powdered sugar

Preparation:

Cream butter and sugar; add eggs. Fold in sour cream and vanilla. Add dry ingredients and fold in blueberries. Grease and flour a tube pan or bundt pan.  Pour 1/3 of batter in pan.  Combine brown sugar, cinnamon and nuts for filling.  Sprinkle first third of batter with half of filling, then add 1/3 more batter, remaining filling and remaining batter. Swirl gently with spatula. Bake at 350 for 55 to 60 minutes.  Cool in pan.  Remove from pan and sift powdered sugar over top.  Serves 12 to 16.
Enjoy!

3 Responses

  1. i love Blueberry Coffee Cake. we can make easly at home

  2. Wow, that crunchy middle sounds delicious. I think I may like that even more than having it on top. I have a linky party on my blog every Saturday called “Sweets for a Saturday” and I’d like to invite you to stop by this weekend and link this up.

  3. The two pieces we got were devoured within minutes! I just might request a full one for my birthday!!

Leave a comment