Baked Eggs…a Healthier Breakfast!

While I do love to cook, I have to admit I’m not a huge fan of cooking breakfast.  I mean, really, how creative can you get with breakfast food?  Honestly, my idea of the perfect breakfast is a bowl of steel cut oatmeal with some cinnamon and a few walnuts…perfect..what more does one need?

But, every now and then, if I get really inspired, I’ll fix something different. Since we’re not big on “fried food”, I prefer to bake my eggs.  They’re much healthier for you, and they really do taste great!  I just crack a couple into individual “gratin” dishes, sprinkle them with a little salt and pepper and then top them with some kind of really good hot sauce.  Put them onto a sheet pan, pop them into a preheated 425° oven, and bake until they are just like you like them…On this particular morning, I served them with biscuits and honey-butter.  To make your own honey-butter, just take a stick of “room temperature” unsalted butter, whip it up with a mixer or in a blender until fluffy, then start adding honey a tablespoon at a time until it tastes good…it’s as easy as that and SOOOO good on hot biscuits.  🙂

Eggs in Gratin Dishes with Hot Sauce

Baked Eggs-A Healthier Alternative

Baked Eggs

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 425°.  Spray gratin dishes with Pam, and crack eggs into dishes.  Add a bit of hot sauce if preferred, some salt & pepper and a few chopped chives.  Bake until almost set in the middle (about 5 minutes).  Then turn oven to “broil” and cook until just set (1-2 minutes more).

If you like this recipe, feel free to Tweet it, Facebook it, or just email it by clicking the “share” button below. 🙂

Leave a Reply

