Chicken Enchilada Soup-great for the slow cooker!

I’ve been seeing lots of slow cooker recipes come across my computer screen lately, and it got me to thinking that maybe my slow cooker could use some replacing!  I feel certain mine was given to me as a wedding gift, so that puts it in the ancient category!   With all the new technology, I figured there HAD to better ones out there, so with the help of Google and America’s Test Kitchen, I did a bit of research to find “the best” slow cooker on the market today.  If you’re interested in seeing which one now sits on my kitchen counter, click here.  After a quick trip to Bed Bath & Beyond, I’m now the proud owner of a brand spankin’ new slow cooker.  🙂

For some reason, I’ve always associated slow cookers with “bland” food, and since no one in my family is a fan of bland, maybe that’s why I didn’t use mine much.  But when BFFE (Best Friend from El Paso), Lisa, raved about this Chicken Enchilada Soup, I figured it was time to initiate my new piece of equipment!   While you can make this soup on the stovetop in about an hour and a half, you can also put it in the slow cooker and be WOWED when you get home from work and walk in the door! The house smells wonderful, and dinner is ready!  Bland, it is NOT! This soup is chock full of flavor and won the approval of both my guys!

Chicken Enchilada Soup

Chicken Enchilada Soup

Chicken Enchilada Soup

Courtesy of Lisa Elbjorn

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 large yellow onion, diced
  • 1 small green or red bell pepper, diced ( I used half green and half red)
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 can (11 oz) Ro-tel diced tomatoes and green chiles (can use the HOT-habanero can for more heat!)
  • 4 cups low sodium chicken broth
  • 1 ¼ pounds boneless chicken breasts
  • 1 cup corn
  • 2 cans black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • ½  teaspoon Mexican oregano (crushed between fingertips)
  • sour cream, shredded cheese,  and diced avocado for garnish

Preparation:

In medium skillet, heat oil over medium heat.  Add onions, peppers and garlic, and season with salt & pepper.  Cook until softened, stirring often, about 10 minutes.

To your slow cooker, add the Ro-tel, chicken broth, chicken, corn, black beans, chile powder, cumin, oregano, 1 teaspoon coarse salt (or ½ teaspoon fine salt) and ¼ teaspoon black pepper. Mix in the cooked onions, peppers and garlic. Cook on high 3-4 hours or low for 5-6.  Remove chicken breasts to a cutting board and shred into bite-sized pieces, adding back to pot when done.

Serve garnished with shredded cheese (I used Monterrey Jack, but cheddar would be good, too), diced avocado and a dollop of sour cream.

ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

