Kale Salad with Orange-Sesame Vinaigrette

I’m always on the lookout for great salads…I could live on them all summer long!  It’s so nice to know there’s a delicious salad made up in the fridge for those days when lunchtime sneaks up, and I’m working from home.

While I was in HEB this weekend, they were handing out samples of their Kale Salad. Since it was lunchtime and I hadn’t eaten (note to self…NEVER go to the grocery store while hungry!), I decided to give it a try but didn’t really expect too much.  OH MY!  Was it GOOD!  The flavors were fantastic!  A little bit sweet, a little bit salty with a hint of sesame, and as a whole, VERY DELICIOUS! I made a mental note of the ingredients and headed home to recreate. This salad is very easy to assemble, and it’s better if made ahead making it great for entertaining!  With all the news about Kale being a nutritional powerhouse and why we should be eating more of it, this salad will be gracing our table a LOT!

The dressing is so good, I started thinking of other things to put it on. I remembered some beets I brought home from the farmers’ market, so I roasted them and made another nice salad (stay tuned for that post).   Both salads are absolutely delicious. Give the dressing a try, and if you come up with another use for it, be sure and let me know!

Kale Salad with Orange Sesame Vinaigrette

Kale Salad with Orange Sesame Vinaigrette

Kale Salad with Orange-Sesame Vinaigrette

Ingredients:

  • 1 bunch of Kale  (washed, stems removed, and chopped)
  • ¼ cup orange juice
  • ¼ cup rice wine vinegar (not seasoned)
  • 2 tablespoons toasted sesame oil
  • 1 tablespoon Tamari or low sodium soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • ½ cup sunflower seeds, (See Liz’s Tidbits)
  • ¼ cup dried cranberries
  • 2 tablespoons crystallized ginger, minced (optional)

Preparation:

Combine orange juice, vinegar, sesame oil, soy sauce and honey in large bowl.  Add greens, seeds cranberries and ginger and toss to combine.  Let stand in fridge for at least 30 minutes, longer if possible.

Liz’s Tidbits:

If I have them,  I also like to throw in pumpkin seeds and slivered almonds along with the sunflower seeds.

8 Responses

  1. Thank you. I was going to try to recreate it on my own but you saved me much time and frustration. I modified it for my Paleo eating habit and can’t want to try it out.

  2. Yummm this is my FAVORITE DRESSING from Central Market!! I am obsessed with it, thanks so much for sharing! I can’t wait to try it out!

  3. Thanks so much for your recipe! I’ve been addicted to this kale salad at HEB/Central market for a while and this recipe comes very close to theirs. I used thawed OJ concentrate for the orange juice, so it would have a nice concentrated flavor. It worked great and balanced out the salty ingredients.

  4. […] Kale Salad with Orange Sesame Vinaigrette […]

  5. I too loved this salad when my HEB first came out with it last month. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

