Spiced Up Butter Beans

I feel like a kid in a candy store when I’m at a Farmers Market.  I end up buying as much of the fresh, local, seasonal produce I can possibly fit into my refrigerator.  It’s healthier for you and so much easier to plan your meals around produce that happens to be in season.  While I usually try making it to the Pearl Farmers Market in San Antonio on Saturdays, sometimes I just can’t make it down there.  Luckily, I have another option!  Just up the street from me is Mr. Kelly Massey who owns KDM Fresh Produce and sets up a stand every Thursday through Saturday with great produce!

Kelly has all kinds of goodies.  This last week he had tomatoes, purple hull peas, speckled butter beans, green tomatoes, peaches, fresh squash, bell peppers, fresh okra, pickled okra, fresh salsa (medium and mild), homemade peach preserves and fresh organic eggs.

I’ve fallen in love with his fresh speckled butter beans. I’d never had butter beans before, so I wasn’t sure just how to prepare them.  The internet only produced bland sounding recipes, and my family isn’t a fan of bland food.  So, I decided to cook them much like I cook pinto beans…with bacon, onion, garlic and serrano peppers.  The secret to these beans is the Better than Bouillon I add while cooking.  I’m telling you, this stuff is incredible!  The flavor that it adds to your dishes is delicious!  My local grocery store carries it, but if yours doesn’t, you can always order it.  So for you locals, stop by and visit Kelly, and tell him Liz sent you!  You won’t be disappointed with his produce!  Kelley is located at the Fair Oaks exit, off IH-10 West under the Chevron sign Thursdays through Saturdays 10:00 – 5:30 weekly.

Spicy Butter Beans

Spiced Up Butter Beans

Serves 4

Printable Recipe

 Ingredients:

  • 1 lb fresh butter beans (1 ziploc bag full)
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 strips bacon
  • 2 serrano peppers, sliced lengthwise, stems and seeds removed
  • 4 cups water or low-sodium chicken stock
  • 1 heaping tablespoon “Better than Bouillon” (chicken flavored)

Preparation:

Saute onions, garlic, bacon and peppers in oil over medium heat until onion is translucent.  Add beans, water or stock and Better than Bouillon.  Bring to boil, reduce to simmer and cook partially covered for about 45 minutes or until beans are tender.  Add more water as needed 1 cup at a time while cooking.

Liz’s Cooking Tidbits:

Do you know how to properly chop an onion?  Click here to watch a video.

Leave a Reply

