Watermelon Tomato Salad

I love watermelon and I love tomatoes, but, frankly, the thought of them together was not so appealing to me.  With so many restaurants putting it on their menus lately, I thought I’d give it a whirl in my kitchen and see what all the fuss is about.   I was pleasantly surprised at how the flavors compliment each other in this salad.  It’s light, full of flavor and with temperatures soaring up close to 100° these days, let me tell you….it’s just what the doctor ordered to cool us off a little!

Many recipes call for just mint or just basil, but I took the liberty and added several herbs I had in my garden (mint, basil & parsley). I loved the combination of all three.  I kept it simple and just drizzled it with a lemon/olive oil vinaigrette, and I thought it was perfect.  Very refreshing and full of flavor!

Keep in mind that your salad will only be as good as your ingredients, so make sure you get your hands on a very sweet watermelon and some of those great flavorful summertime tomatoes!

Watermelon Tomato Salad

Watermelon Tomato Salad

Yield: 8 -10 servings

Printable Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 8 cups 1-inch chunks seedless watermelon, chilled
  • 4 cups 1-inch chunks ripe tomatoes
  • 1/2  cup chopped fresh herbs (I used equal parts mint, parsley & basil
  • feta cheese

Dressing:

  • 1/4 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice (2 lemons)
  • 1/2 cup good quality olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper

Preparation:

Whisk together all ingredients for the dressing and set aside.  Combine chilled melon and tomato in large bowl.  Toss in herbs and drizzle with dressing.  Pour onto decorative platter or bowl and sprinkle with feta cheese. (**See Liz’s Notes)

**Liz’s Notes:

  1. Experiment with different flavors…if you like goat cheese, use it instead of feta.  Or if you really like basil, try it with just basil instead of a combination of different herbs.  I really don’t think you can mess this salad up.
  2. Prep the watermelon ahead of time, cover the bowl and keep it in the refrigerator. Just before serving, toss everything together and drizzle with the dressing.  It’s best when there’s a chill on the melon.
One Response

  1. Loved it! Can’t wait to try again…

Leave a Reply

