Escolar Topped with Tomato-Mint-Basil Salsa

On a recent trip to my new favorite spot, “Groomer Seafood“, I purchased some Escolar, sometimes known as “Butter Fish”.  While I’d heard of Escolar before, I’d never tasted it and decided to give it a try.  I’d heard it was very similar to Chilean Sea Bass both in texture and taste but with a much more appealing price tag!  Once home, I decided to pan roast it… (brush with olive oil, season & sear in non-stick, oven-proof skillet on medium-high heat 3-4 minutes until nice crust is formed.  Carefully flip the fish & pop the skillet into a preheated 450° oven for another 6-7 minutes).  The fish was succulent, rich & buttery and utterly delicious.  I topped it with a Tomato-Mint-Basil Salsa that was the perfect accompaniment!
Do be warned, however, that because of its high oil content, Escolar has a reputation for causing, let’s say, intestinal distress if eaten in larger portions than about 6 ounces. Enjoy in moderation!

Escolar topped with Tomato-Mint-Basil Salsa

Tomato-Mint-Basil Salsa

adapted from The Cook’s Bible-The Best of American Home Cooking

Makes about 3 cups
  • 2 cups diced fresh, ripe tomatoes
  • 3 cloves garlic peeled and minced
  • 2 tablespoons minced fresh basil
  • 2 tablespoons minced fresh mint
  • 1/2 cup high quality olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon white wine vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
Combine all ingredients in a medium bowl.  Cover and let sit at room temperature for at least an hour (preferably 2) before serving.

Note: This salsa is only as good as the tomato that is used…best with those ripe summer heirlooms!  Letting the salsa sit at room temperature to develop flavor is a MUST!  I left mine alone for about 2 hours.  This is great on top of ANY fish!
3 Responses

  1. I will definitely try this! I just had escolar for the first time at Perla’s in Austin and it was excellent! Thanks!

  2. I love escolar…sashimi/sushi!!! You are correct, it is so rich and buttery you shouldn’t eat it in large portions. Yum, I greatly miss my sushi…only 10 more weeks to go 🙂 I will definitely have to try this cooked version to tide me over till then. Your recipes are always delish.

  3. Really can’t wait to try this! the salsa sounds so good!Had butter fish once and we thought it was one of the best fish dishes we’ve had! thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

