Shrimp Ceviche-Happy Birthday Will!

Today is my son, Will’s, 14th birthday.  As usual, I asked in advance what he’d like me to prepare for his birthday meal.  Most kids see their birthday as an opportunity to “splurge” and have something they don’t get very often.  Well my kid is no different.  The difference is he doesn’t get “kid” food very often, so THAT’S a splurge for him.  Here’s our conversation:

Me: “So, Will, do you want me to cook anything special for your birthday?  (Knowing Will, it’s not unexpected for him to ask for Lobster or maybe filet mignon–not that he’d get it, but he certainly has a very sophisticated palate for a kid his age. )

Will: “Hmmmm…Hamburgers might be good….and that really good potato salad.  You know, the kind you can buy already made up from the grocery store.  And maybe some pasta salad, too…the kind you can get at Costco! mmmmm…that sounds really good!  And don’t forget those beans I really like…you know…the ones in the black can. I think they’re called Ranch Style beans.  I LOVE those beans!”

And so there you have it.  All I had to do was make a trip to the grocery store, buy some canned beans, a couple of already prepared salads, have Dad throw some burgers on the grill, and my kid is a HAPPY CAMPER!  I love boys…they’re SO easy to please! Come to think of it, it really doesn’t change when they’re all grown up.  How does that saying go? Something like…….”Men are easy to please…just show up naked and bring beer!” They’re such simple creatures!

Since I really don’t need to blog about or show pictures of opening a can of Ranch Style beans, I thought I’d give you the recipe for the one thing that I DID get to prepare today.   My version of Shrimp Ceviche.  For those of you who wouldn’t be caught dead eating fish that’s not cooked, don’t worry.  Everything in my version is precooked.  It’s easy to put together and is great for a crowd!  This goes out to Danielle and Veronica.  Glad you liked it! Happy Birthday Will!

Shrimp Ceviche-Liz Style

Shrimp Ceviche-Liz Style

Printable Recipe

Ingredients:

1/2 bag of the frozen precooked “salad shrimp” (from Costco), thawed

3/4 cup fresh lime juice

2 teaspoons grated lime zest

1 teaspoon salt

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 1/2 cup chopped white onion

2 serrano chilies, finely chopped (or more to taste)

1 garlic clove, minced

1 cup diced tomatoes

1 cup drained pimiento-stuffed green olives, chopped

3/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro

Directions:

Chop thawed shrimp and place into large bowl.  Add remaining ingredients, stir to blend. Cover and refrigerate about an hour before serving.  Serve with chips.

4 Responses

  1. Be sure that Danielle and I will be making the ceviche in the next few days! Thanks for the recipe and for the yummy food!

  2. Well, you’ve got that “How to please men” thing down pat! Now just when can I expect the prescribed presentation?

  3. This is always SUCH a crowd pleaser. I’ll be honest though, my favorite were the brownies and Velveeta queso and fritos. I could have eaten the whole bowl of queso, yummmmmmm!

    • OMG!!! I totally forgot that Will also wanted the queso made with that “REALLY GOOD” cheese (Velveeta). And brownies instead of cake! Such a HEALTHY meal! LOL!!!!

Leave a Reply

