Spicy Grilled Chicken with Watermelon/Mango Salsa

Sometimes when I least expect it, I’ll fix a dish that makes me take notice and say “WOW!”  Such was the case the other night.  I had laid some boneless chicken breasts out to thaw, and didn’t really know what I was going to do with them.  A quick look in my pantry for some inspiration led me to a hostess gift my friend, Cathy, gave me a while back. You need to understand this was no usual hostess gift.  More like a conversation piece!  It’s a spice rub by the name of “Aw Shit” from the “Big Cock Ranch”, claiming to be a “specially blended seasoning for those who want to put a little zip in their doo-da”. Well, HELLLOOOOOO!  Who DOESN’T want to put a little ZIP in their DOO-DA?  Just for the record, you locals can purchase “Aw Shit”, along with “Hot Shit”, “Special Shit” and “Good Shit” from Cathy’s new gift store, “Giorgios” which is opening soon!  I highly recommend this shit!

Next, I figured I’d need a little something to top the chicken to cool down the taste buds.  I had both mangoes and watermelon sitting on my counter, so I thought I’d give them a try together in a salsa.  I diced them up, added a little cilantro, red onion, a few serrano peppers, and a squeeze of lime, and MAN, LET ME TELL YOU, there was definitely some ZIP going on in our DOO-DAs!  This was one of the BEST salsas I’ve ever eaten, and it was fantastic paired with the spicy grilled chicken!

Of course, as we all sat down to dinner that evening, my 13 year old (self-proclaimed comedian son) takes one bite and declares “MOM, This SHIT is REEAALLY good”!  That was quickly followed by “You can’t ground me! That’s the name of it”!  Don’t you just LOVE teenagers?

Spicy Grilled Chicken with Watermelon/Mango Salsa

Watermelon/Mango Salsa

Printable Recipe

Ingredients:

2 mangoes, peeled and diced
2 Cups diced watermelon
1-2 serrano peppers, diced (optional)
1/2 red onion, diced
1/2 Cup cilantro, chopped
Squeeze of lime
1/2 Teaspoon sugar (only if needed for sweetness)

Liz’s notes:
1. Make sure your mango and watermelon are at their peak and full of flavor for best results.
2. My family likes things “Spicy”, so I use serrano peppers.  Jalapeno peppers would be a little milder, or you can leave them out completely.

One Response

  1. That looks awesome! Well… really everything you’ve posted looks awesome. Thanks for the inspiring ideas!

Leave a Reply

