Dark Chocolate Fix

I WOULD GIVE UP CHOCOLATE, BUT I’M NO QUITTER!

Chocolate Molten Cake
Molten Chocolate Cake

I confess, I’m a chocoholic!  But, hey, chocolate’s cheap therapy, right?  Especially, when there’s a nice glass of red wine to go with it!

For several years, I’ve been on the never-ending search for the perfect molten chocolate cake recipe.  I’ve tried dozens, but none ever seem to measure up to my all-time favorite served at Morton’s Steakhouse.   Not that I still don’t love the occasional treat to dinner at Morton’s, but, I think my search is over! See the picture above?  Are you ready for this?  I found them in the frozen section at my all time favorite store….Costco!  Deeply chocolate, enrobed in chocolate and filled with a dark chocolate truffle. Serve wickedly warm, unleashing a rush of molten chocolate! Just zap them in the microwave for 30 seconds and the gates to heaven open!  Daughter, Alexis, checked out the website for this company called Sweet Street Desserts and found you can order them online for $56.95 for a box of 9.  Costco sells the SAME BOX for $14.99!!! GOTTA LOVE COSTCO!!!  My freezer is stocked!  Hurry…RUN…before they run out!!!!

Deeply Chocolate Gelato

Deeply Chocolate Gelato-Ina Garten

I was so impressed when my friend, Nancy, recently brought homemade coconut ice cream to my house.  I mean, really…who actually takes the time to make homemade ice cream anymore?  Especially on a weeknight?  Well, let me tell you, it’s going to become a regular happening at my house from now on!   I happened to watch Ina Garten make what she calls “Deeply Chocolate Gelato”.  It looked so  decadent and so easy that knew I had to give it a shot.  I found and dusted off my little countertop ice cream maker and went to work.  If you love chocolate, this is SOOO worth the effort!  Instead of adding the chocolate candy at the end, I added some crushed cocoa nibs.   Next time, I might try some toffee bits, and see if I can make it taste like a dark chocolate heath bar!

Deeply Chocolate Gelato

Ina Garten

Printable Recipe

Ingredients

  • 2 1/4 cups whole milk
  • 1/3 cup heavy cream
  • 3/4 cup sugar, divided
  • 1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder (recommended: Pernigotti)
  • 2 ounces bittersweet chocolate, finely chopped
  • 4 extra-large egg yolks
  • 2 tablespoons Mexican coffee flavor liqueur (recommended: Kahlua)
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • Large pinch kosher salt
  • 8 chocolates, roughly chopped, optional (recommended: Baci)

Directions

Heat the milk, cream, and 1/2 cup sugar in a 2-quart saucepan, until the sugar dissolves and the milk starts to simmer. Add the cocoa powder and chocolate and whisk until smooth. Pour into a heat-proof measuring cup.

Place the egg yolks and the remaining 1/4 cup sugar in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment and beat on high speed for 3 to 5 minutes, until light yellow and very thick. With the mixer on low speed, slowly pour the hot chocolate mixture into the egg mixture. Pour the egg and chocolate mixture back into the 2-quart saucepan and cook over medium-low heat, stirring constantly, until thickened. A candy thermometer will register about 180 degrees F. Don’t allow the mixture to boil!

Pour the mixture through a sieve into a bowl and stir in the coffee liqueur, vanilla, and salt. Place a piece of plastic wrap directly on top of the custard and chill completely.

Pour the custard into the bowl of an ice cream maker and process according to the manufacturer’s directions. Stir in the roughly chopped chocolate, if using, and freeze in covered containers. Allow the gelato to thaw slightly before serving.

4 Responses

  1. […] Chocolate Gelato is one I made in a previous post “Dark Chocolate Fix”.  This time I added toffee bits for a bit of “Heath Bar” flavor.  […]

  2. Yum! Will be at Costco to check out your latest chocolate fix. Ina’s Deeply Chocolate Gelato is one recipe I can’t have never been before for some reason. Thanks for helping all of us who NEED their chocolate fix from time to time!

  3. We tasted this and it was fabulous. Chris and I are both chocolate lovers and are always buying Ben and Jerry pints of ice cream, trying to find the best. I spent a year in Spain and a month traveling Italy, and no joke, this was the best gelato EVER. It simply can’t get any more satisfying. I would take this over a $100 bottle of wine. Never thought I would say that!

  4. Well, I’m no quitter either, when it comes to enjoying these delicious treats. How ’bout whipping up another batch of homemade chocolate ice cream for tomorrow night? Don’t worry, I’ll provide the red wine for the chef’s inspiration!

Leave a Reply

